Healthy Parents

An idea crossed my mind recently that I think is a good one.  And that is that the best thing we can give our families and our children is something that is entirely within our control and that is to be healthy.  I don’t mean just physically healthy, but healthy in all areas.  I especially think of mental health and financial health.  When we are unhealthy in these areas it trickles (or sometimes cascades) down to the kids.  I am really big on mental health because it is close to my heart and because of all the things I hear from kids.  When we are financially unhealthy then our kids don’t learn how to manage their own money and that is a problem that keeps on going.  Sometimes our kids need counseling and won’t go and if we go ourselves we can influence the rest of the family as we get healthy and begin to treat family members in an appropriate and balanced way.  We need to adopt a parental Hippocratic oath to do no harm.  Easier said than done I know.  This is a very tough job that we have and we need to encourage each other and not grow weary. So I want to encourage all of you to hang in there and act in love towards your kids.

Leave a Reply

