Beliefs, Vision, and Mission Statement

My district this year has been through an amazing process of working on the American School Counselor Association National Model.  Each middle and high school in our district was directed to come up with a belief, vision and mission statement to present at a district counselors’ meeting.  Our Director of Secondary Education merged the input of each school’s statements to come up with a district belief, vision and mission statement.  When we were asked to give input on the district statement I realized that I needed to write my own statements first because I didn’t feel like my school’s statements necessarily accurately reflect what would be my own.  Below is what I came up with.

What do you believe?

I believe that all students can learn.

I believe that all students can graduate from high school.

I believe that high school can have an overwhelmingly positive climate.

I believe that all students need to be connected to people (both students and staff) and to learning that is meaningful to them.

I believe that all students, faculty and staff on campus deserve respect.

I believe that all students can develop appropriately and be mentally healthy.

I believe that all students deserve help and direction when they ask.

I believe that all students can be enrolled in curriculum that is interesting and challenging for them.

I believe that students can identify genuine goals for themselves and steps to reach those goals.

I believe that all students can learn the skills to investigate careers and the training and education needed for them.

I believe that all students can discover their interests and excel at their strengths.

I believe that upon graduation all students can be ready for life after high school including the steps necessary for further study and living independently.

I believe that to accomplish these goals all students will need support and some will need intervention.  I also believe that in order for a high school to have a positive climate the adults who work there must deliberately plan and work to make that a reality.

I believe that a school counseling team with a comprehensive school counseling program is integral to produce healthy, happy, successful, and prepared high school graduates.

I believe that a comprehensive school counseling program must utilize data to plan and set goals.

I believe that school counselors must be both proactive and skilled leaders and committed and thoughtful team players.

Vision

Students are engaged in learning and connected to others within a positive school environment.  Students graduate from high school developmentally healthy and prepared to enter their choice of further education to pursue career and life goals.

Mission Statement

The mission of the school counseling department is to provide a comprehensive school counseling program that advocates for and supports students engaged in interesting, meaningful and challenging curriculum on a campus with a respectful and positive climate, fostering the skills needed for a healthy and successful future.

Leave a Reply

